Several data management options are available for both Tables and individual Data Columns. These options allow you to limit access to data, prevent overwriting or clearing data, and controlling how the data is used. Most options are available to set for both the Table as a whole or the Columns individually.
Select to allow editing a Data Column. If Edit Column is not enabled, then you cannot edit, activate, deactivate, or delete the Data Column. Edit Column is only available to set for Data Columns.
Select to allow editing data within the table or column. If this option is not enabled, data can be added to the table or column, but the data cannot be changed. If Edit Data is not enabled for a Table, you will be able to Query the data but cannot edit any data in the Table. If Edit Data is not enabled for a Column, you cannot edit data in that specific Column, regardless of the Table level setting.
Select to allow data to be imported into the table or column. This option can be enabled to initially create the table, and turned off later to prevent the addition of further data.
If Import is not enabled for a Table, the Table will not appear in the Import wizard in the UI, and Import via API will fail. If Import is not enabled for a Column, the data column in your Import file or API command will be ignored.
Select to allow data to be exported into a report from the table or column. This option can be reset at any time.
If Export is not enabled for a Table, the Table will not appear in the Export wizard in the UI. If Export is not enabled for a Column, the data column will be ignored during the Export process.
Select to allow data to be used in Segmentation Rules for publishing. This option can be reset at any time.
If Segmentation is not enabled for a Table, the Table will not appear in the Segmentation Rules creators in the UI. If Segmentation is not enabled for a Column, the data column will not be listed with the other Table.Column fields in the Segmentation Rule creators in the UI.
NOTE: A Table or Data Column that has been used within a Segmentation Rule cannot be deleted.
Select to allow data to be purged from the table with the Clear Data link or via the API. This is also known as truncating data. Clear Data allows you to delete all data stored in a Table before importing new data without the need of deleting the entire table. It can only be done during the Import process or via an API command. Clear Data is used as a table optimization feature.
Clear Data is only available to set at the Table level. It can only be enabled when a Table is created and cannot be reset once a Table is Activated.
Use this option with all caution, as once the data is cleared, it cannot be recovered.